Today’s Embassy Adventure!

It’s been a stressful week, and I have been drinking coffee out the yang.
I’m not someone who’s very use to coffee, so coupling my high stress week with more coffee than I’ve consumed in my lifetime thus far, I’m a virtual basket case.
Lately I’ve been expanding my investment portfolio to include international investments in New Zealand, mostly to occupy the time I spend along because I bore easily. Also I finished my book and haven’t bought a new one. And the biggest thing I’ve learned so far is … I should take up sudoku.
This process has been far more stressful than investing domestically, and it’s been not much more than one headache after another. Although when it’s over, there’s no chance I won’t miss the rush. What is wrong with me?
Today I’ve been traipsing all over Vancouver looking for the New Zealand Consulate, that’s right, the cities embassy of New Zealand.
Why??
All week long I’ve been trying to verify some documents that prove my identity, because it turns out, when your dealing with money from across the ocean, people get skittish if they can’t see your face, and want someone with authority to say with an official stamp, this dude legit.
At first they said my lawyer friend on the ship would suffice, but she no longer has a registration number is so failed the test.
Been looking around for accountants, lawyers, anyone on their super limited list that included people I’ll never meet. Such as ambassadors, the Governor General?!? “Excuse me Ms Brice, I know you assist in running the nation of Australia, but … Could you sign my piece of paper?”
But no, found no one. Then when all seemed lost I realized hey! Why not the freaking embassy?!? So off I went and found it.
I’ve literally been in embassy’s and consulates more times than I’ve eaten pie, but I was still terrified sitting in the waiting room. Do they spray a terror smell? I dunno but I was right to fear, because without an appointment I was practically on my knees begging to see the one woman in Canada that could help me. I have no other days off before I leave Canada, possibly forever. So she made a one time exception and saw me anyway.
Then made me leave again to search the city for an ATM to pay her.
Eventually I found one, paid the woman, and posted the forms. Btw when did postage start costing a zillion dollars?? Maybe I’m old school.
But it’s done!! They’d better accept my id for all the stress and Canadian money I spent today or else …. Or else … I’ll cry or something.
Thanks for reading my adventure for today, I’ll update you on everything again soon. šŸ™‚
Only a few weeks left in Alaska before I hit the road somewhere new, subscribe for more of the good stuff, and I’ll talk again soon. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Today’s Embassy Adventure!

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as
    you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

