Accept?

I didn’t eat Mcdonalds today!
I absolutely did eat Burger King though, so progress definitely not made.
A contemplative day today as we visited the 9/11 Memorial, we saw the movie ‘Whiplash’ and unsuccessfully tried to order the discontinued Mocha Cookie Crunch Frappuccino from Starbucks. What does Starbucks think its doing??
But all the people in this city got me thinking about how I’ve changed going through life meeting people.
I think the 9/11 Memorial puts things in perspective for a lot of people, and it helped me make some realisations.
Different lifestyles make sense to me these days, points of views once foreign now feel so natural.
I’ve been traveling for a living since the end of 2011, and I’ve met lots of people from all over the world. In this time I can tell you I have grown up quite a lot, and the way I think has progressed far and beyond how I use to.
What is it about travel that does this to you? People think and live differently where I’m from in Australia, I have access to many kinds of people in my home town in Queensland. But it takes going around the world and living in America to allow me to understand peoples perspective and see value in the ways of living for others.
The only way of living I’ll never understand is living rurally in the country, the country is there for visiting, I’ll always love the city haha.
I know I’m being vague but I’m talking about the way people live location wise, with their sexual and religious identities, with things they do and don’t accept, what they will and won’t eat, and decisions they make.
I’m ashamed at how I use to see models for example, here I am acting for a job and I use to view models as dumb and vapid. I’ve since made some very close friends within that industry and now I know how deep and amazing they are. Thats such a shallow example, but as I look around New York I can recognise people and how they are living their life, and see value in how they are doing it.
I don’t agree with everything mind you, people live in a way that I never would, but I don’t think it’s any of our business to point out such things.
I think that for the majority of us it is enough to live life and love others and help people when they want to be helped.
Some people have issues and they want to be helped to change, thats wonderful.
However some people have issues and they love it. More power to you.
I feel like I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know, but I’ve made a lot of mistakes by thinking that everyone else is also accepting and loving, and it’s unfortunately not the case.
So lets start leaving people alone, and start looking at the darkness within ourselves, if your gonna turn to someone else, it should be to share love and thats it.
An unusual post today, but thats a thought I had today whilst in the city, have a good night guys and I’ll be back tomorrow. 🙂 Subscribe for more traveling fun as we venture through New York and have epiphanies haha, enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

